The Woman in the Window - A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window

By A. J. Finn

  • Release Date: 2018-01-02
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 4,301 Ratings

Description

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.
   

Reviews

  • Loved!

    4
    By adirondaks
    Couldn’t put this book down, definitely enjoyed the read and finished it within 3 days.
  • Incredible Mystery/Suspense

    5
    By pcard0013
    It was hard for me to put this book down. Easily one of the best I’ve read recently. The mystery and suspense was fantastic and you were fed enough timely clues/information throughout to always keep you on the edge of your seat.
  • Truly Un-put-down-able

    5
    By xgorJess
    Read in two days, would have been one had it not been for my stupid job lol. Very easy yet intriguing read. I did not see the twist coming. Highly recommend!
  • Ummmm

    3
    By Sdfrdeghfrjed
    Unlike the other reviews, I liked the rest of the story but not the ending. The ending was a bit lame. I did take turns thinking which character was the one who done it. And the actual one did come to mind a few times, so I wasn’t too surprised. The ending fight was stupid. The reveal that “so and so was right” was right all along was wack. It just kinda ended like oh, ok.
  • Slow moving

    2
    By chels1298746
    The whole book is about a woman drinking in her home, spying on her neighbors. A drunk sloppy mess. Repetitive and boring.
  • The Woman in the Window

    3
    By KAySeeSee
    Where have all the great writers gone? Hemingway, Steinbeck, Fitzgerald.. Grisham and Paterson, and in my estimation, this book " Woman in the Window" are prices of a non- demanding reading public. Don't push the edges.. Just give me something to read quickly and discuss over a glass of wine. This was very (VERY) predictable..No stretch to the imagination, overworked imagery!
  • Decent, Not Great

    4
    By uberstank57
    Finn’s writing style certainly wouldn’t be considered high brow and took getting used to and most, but not all, of the plot twists were easy to figure beforehand. The descriptive narrative was generally weak making parts of the story hard to imagine and could have been developed more. However the central character was compelling and overall the story was interesting enough to hold me until the end.
  • Gripping

    5
    By okflymom
    This book spoon fed me all the gripping details that kept me anxious to find out what was unfolding in the plot. It kept me tied up in knots.....but in a good way. I love this style of writing. Highly recommend this book
  • A little repetitive and dragging, but an excellent surprise ending!

    3
    By BabiNik88
    I honestly thought this book was going to be really good, but was a little disappointed. It was not bad, but the first big twist I had figured out in the first chapter or two, and found myself waiting for it to be revealed. The book did drag on a bit, it took me a while to read only because I found it hard to pick up and get really interested sometimes. I was very surprised by the ending however, and did not see it coming!!(actually gave me goosebumps). The ending itself did make the read worth it, but I wish it didn’t take soo long with all the repetition. I can however see this being a more interesting movie, which I believe is in the works now, so let’s see how that works out!
  • A page turner!

    5
    By Yoyolittlejoe
    Hard to have put the book down. Finished in 3 days.